Are you a geocacher?

First time out geocaching and we found the cache! By we, I mean Bruce and I. Bruce is my hubby and #1 hiking partner. I quit smoking in January of this year. By april I was wanting to get in shape and Bruce soon got on the bandwagon because his blood pressure and cholesterol was higher than we’d like.

Neither of us likes to do normal exercising like going to a gym so we had to come up with other ideas. Our last child graduated high school, works full time at a great job and is starting college so we find ourselves with plenty of time to enjoy the things we like. Camping is pretty high on our list, as is walking, so hiking was a logical addition. We just finished a 12 mile round trip. 10 of those miles where straight up Mt Defiance near Hood River Oregon!

We weren’t home long when we started to plan our next hike. We are going close to home this time about 10 miles along the Lewis and Clark trail to Boardman Oregon. I was surfing around two days ago and found a geocaching website. I had heard of it before but thought you needed some very expensive equipment. Boy was I wrong. I found tons of caches here local so I waited for Bruce to get home from work and filled him in. We both got excited by the prospect of finding the treasure. On the way to taking Bruce to work this morning we stopped and logged our very first cache! We are hooked. Going to look for two more tonight. Next post I’ll explain what geocaching is. I assume you already know about hiking. lol 

One Response

  1. Yes I am a geocache hunter also. I also camp and fish. Waiting on your article about geocaching. I want to show my girlfriend.

Leave a Reply

